Skip to content ↓

Learning for Life

Intent Statement.


Preparing our children for their future.

Encouraging them to be confident, successful and responsible individuals, ready to thrive in modern society.

What is Learning for Life?


LFL (Learning for Life) is a school subject through which pupils develop the knowledge, skills and attributes they need to keep themselves healthy and safe, and prepare for life and work in modern Britain. Evidence shows that well-delivered lessons have an impact on both academic and non-academic outcomes for pupils. Schools, in partnership with parents, have a vital role in preparing children and young people to negotiate the challenges and opportunities of an increasingly complex world.


We have always taught 'Learning for Life' in school. The Government, has formalised this in a statutory curriculum, Relationships, Sex and Health Education. (RHSE)


At Fixby, the term 'Learning for life' encompasses the following: 


Personal, social, health and economic (PSHE) education is the school subject that deals with real life issues affecting our children, families and communities. It’s concerned with the social, health and economic realities of their lives, experiences and attitudes. It supports pupils to be healthy (mentally and physically); safe (online and offline) and equipped to thrive in their relationships and careers.

Relationships, Sex and Health Education (RSHE) promotes equality and challenges all forms of prejudice and discrimination. It teaches the importance of safe, caring, healthy, positive and respectful relationships. Teachers will refer to different viewpoints and beliefs on a wide range of issue within RSHE. 

Relationship and Health Education are compulsory elements.

Relationships: Respecting ourselves & others, belonging to a community, Family & friendships, Safe Relationships and Keeping Safe.

Health: Physical health, Mental Well-being, Drugs and Alcohol, Basic First Aid and Growing and changing.

Sex: This is an optional element and following parent consultation is currently not taught. 

British Values  educates children on the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs.



The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:


  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Fixby Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 

We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Fixby Primary School. 

The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:


  • Our school ethos statements, SIP, and SEF

  • Our school values

  • Our school behaviour policy

  • Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community

  • Active engagement and communication with parents and carers

  • Assemblies

  • Current Affairs

  • Discussion within curriculum subjects, taking across-curricular approach

  • Promoting articulation by building appropriate language and a coherent vocabulary

  • Learning for Life Lessons (including PSHE and RSE)

  • Religious Education (RE) lessons

  • Celebration Days (Diwali, Eid, Chinese New Year, Anti-bullying etc)

  • Pupil Voice

  • Educational visits

  • School council

  • Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community

Protected characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 protects us all by making it against the law to discriminate or harass someone because of a protected characteristic. We all have more than one of the nine protected characteristics. This short film explains what they are. Find out more on our website: